You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

State inspections to put you in a better state of mind.


You can get state inspections all over town. However, no other place works as hard as Service First to make the experience seamless and efficient. Because we believe even a state inspection is an opportunity for great service.

Schedule an Appointment

State inspections to put you in a better state of mind.


You can get state inspections all over town. However, no other place works as hard as Service First to make the experience seamless and efficient. Because we believe even a state inspection is an opportunity for great service.

Schedule an Appointment

Turn to us for state car inspections

Texas law requires that all vehicles pass an annual state inspection. (Emissions testing may also be required in some cases.) A state inspection evaluates all of your car’s safety systems, including brakes, steering, tires, exhaust, lights, horn, mirrors, seat belts, and windshield wipers.

Texas drivers must show valid proof of insurance as part of a state inspection.

While we’re testing your vehicle, come inside and make yourself comfortable. You can check email in our iPad Wi-Fi Bar while sipping a free cup of Starbucks coffee. And if the kids are with you, they can blow of a little steam in our indoor, glass-enclosed indoor children's playground.

Find a Nearby Location

As a result of House Bill 2305 passed during the 83rd legislative session (2013), the State of Texas no longer issues inspection stickers and has transitioned to a “Two Steps, One Sticker” vehicle inspection and registration program. Your registration sticker serves as combined proof of registration and inspection. Beginning March 1, 2016, you will have 90 days to complete the Two Steps. In order to renew on time, your vehicle must pass inspection no earlier than 90 days before your registration expires.

Learn More

When does your vehicle need to be inspected?

A state inspection is required every year, with a five-day grace period after your car’s inspection sticker expires.

Schedule an Appointment

What happens if my car fails its safety inspection?

Your Service First technician will tell you what needs remedying to pass inspection. Retesting is free within 15 days. The best way to pass the inspection is to keep your car well-maintained and to make any necessary repairs.

Why Service First?

We pride ourselves on being different than your average auto service center. That all starts with our friendly handshake and extends to our satisfaction guarantee, driving unparalleled customer service through everything we do.

  • We greet you within 15 seconds of pulling up.
  • We have an enclosed indoor play area for kids.
  • We won’t sell you anything you don’t need.
  • Free Starbucks coffee in the waiting room.
  • Customer satisfaction is guaranteed.